The Practical Self-Love Practice

Ah, self-love. It’s a term getting thrown around lately, typically followed by someone telling you to take a bath, light a candle, or chill in a face mask. While these things are great, for me, that’s not all there is to it.

I’m always looking for the practical approach to things. And when it comes to self-love, here’s what I came up with: The core to self-love is knowing how you want to be loved, and giving that to yourself, instead of expecting it from others.

But how do we do that? One way to go about it is following your “love language.” Love languages are a concept based on a popular book by Gary Chapman. It basically says that everyone likes to expresses and receive love differently, and here are the 5 ways outlined in the book:

  1. Words of Affirmation

  2. Acts of Service

  3. Quality Time

  4. Receiving Gifts

  5. Physical Touch

There’s a quick online quiz that you can take if you want to find out your love language. I took the quiz and found that my primary love language is Words of Affirmation. No surprise. It’s one of the reasons I love to write; words are the best way I share and receive love.

Real self-love is knowing how you want to be loved and giving it freely and abundantly to yourself. I’ll take that over candles or face masks any day. But I’m also always down for a bomb ass mask, tho.

With Ambition + Mischief,


I’d love to know what your love language is! Tell me below.